Alsip Park District Board of Commissioners Summary of Decennial Committee Session May 22, 2023

Par. 1 CALL FOR SESSION

Chairman Schmitt announced the regular order of business was suspended for the purpose of conducting a session in compliance with the Decennial Committee on Local Government Efficiency Act to convene a committee to study and report on local government efficiency.

Par. 2 ATTENDANCE

There were present Alsip Park District Commissioners Becker, Gutierrez, Kleina, Perretta, and Chairman Schmitt, Director of Parks and Recreation Jeannette Huber, Secretary Mary Poremba, Attorney Cainkar, and interested citizens were also in attendance.

Par. 3 APPOINTMENT TO COMMITTEE

Chairman Schmitt reported the Act requires at least two residents of the territory served by the Alsip Park District and announced the addition Mr. Michael Fraider and Ms. Shari Wellston as appointees to the Decennial Committee.

Par. 4 Motion made by Commissioner Becker, seconded by Commissioner Kleina, to approve Resolution 2023-01 A Resolution Forming a Committee on Local Government Efficiency. The roll was called with Commissioners Becker, Gutierrez, Kleina, Perretta, and Chairman Schmitt voting yes. Motion carried 5 – 0.

Par. 5 ATTORNEY'S REPORT

Alsip Park District Attorney Cainkar reported a sample of requirements that the Committee must adhere to in a study of local efficiencies and accountabilities and by conducting at least three meetings no later than 18 months after the first committee meeting. He noted public is welcome to attend the meetings or provide input on matters discussed by the committee, which must: Meet a first time no later than June 10, 2023 to organize meeting assignments for study; Meet a second time for information collection to compile a draft report; and Provide county a report with recommendations on efficiencies and increased accountability.

- Par. 6 Attorney Cainkar added that the Committee must have a separate meeting by July 24, 2023.
- Par. 7 Motion made by Commissioner Kleina, seconded by Commissioner Perretta, to leave the Special Session. Motion carried by voice vote 5 0.

Respectfully submitted,

Mary E. Poremba, Secretary to Committee